Thoughts On Being Mothered

“Moms aren’t just those gals that do the birthing- they are also the stepmothers, mentors, teachers, friends and people who do the nurturing and loving. I am talking about the women in our lives who teach, care, listen, act, hug, wipe away the tears, tell us everything that is going to be all right, say no, say yes, guide us, who pray and have faith in us. These special women share the blessings of a mothering spirit as they touch lives and hearts forever. They mother because of their great capacity to love and they give of their generous spirit without expectation.”

-Sandra Magsamen

The other day, I fell off my bicycle on my way to the kindergarten. I hit the sidewalk with a big “thump”, skinned my elbows and knees, and was in a state of shock. So, I cried. When an older woman came running from across the street to check on me, I resisted the urge to say “I’m fine” and let her help me up and give me a hug. I cried a little bit more. I am 29 years old and nurture children for a living, but I was reminded then of my need to be nurtured as well. As I stood there on the sidewalk with this stranger, I felt completely ridiculous, but I didn’t pull away or ask her to leave. I just stayed there and let her care for me.

All day long, I give hugs, hold tiny hands, wipe away tears, listen to stories and ideas, and offer support to growing minds. I have long wondered how to refill my emotional energy tank at the end of the day, and only recently do I finally know the answer: a mother. The older I get, the more important my own maternal figures become. Especially as mothers and nurturers, we need them. So long as we are giving love, we must remember to receive it as well.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On Being Mothered

  1. Amazing piece! Just a beautiful reminder to receive with the same open heart and we give. You and a very writer as well as a very special woman. ❤

    Like

  2. Another spot-on piece Jules!!! And so true …. Where would we be without our Mamas!!! Love and miss you …. Can’t wait to see you soon!! 💗 Auntie Mar❌⭕️

    Like

Leave a comment